Magpiecostumer's Blog

Photos of the finished wedding garb

So as I posted all of my ‘in progress’ photos yesterday I thought I should share some photos of the final finished articles. All photos are courtesy of Bad Cat Photography used with permission.

lacing up the kirtle

lacing up the kirtle

lacing up the gown

lacing up the gown

My blackworked cuffs

My blackworked cuffs

sewing the placket on (I ran out of time to add hooks & eyes so I had to be sewn in on the day)

sewing the placket on (I ran out of time to add hooks & eyes so I had to be sewn in on the day)

B waiting for me at the church and enjoying his swoosh

B waiting for me at the church and enjoying his swoosh

The back of B's gown showing off the swoosh.

The back of B’s gown showing off the swoosh.

Full length photo of both of us

Full length photo of both of us

The whole silhouette not obscured by my veil

The whole silhouette not obscured by my veil

An action shot in which you can see my sleeves better.

An action shot in which you can see my sleeves better.

from the back with the train tied up to the inside

from the back with the train tied up to the inside

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Photos of the finished wedding garb

  1. Thank you for your pictures and inspiration. As someone who is just starting late period it always helps to see those who make it look easy. Also Congratulations may your journey be happy and peaceful,

    • magpiecostumer on said:

      Thanks, it’s not a quick journey to get to this stage, I’ve been making 16th century garb for a bit over 10 years. This is my fourth attempt at making a court gown of this 1540s style (and second based on the Tudor Tailor’s instructions). All you need is enough patience to go through as many mockups as you need and somebody (either you or somebody else) who understands properly how it’s supposed to fit.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

